No-Knead Dutch Oven Bread

Since I made the pizza dough last week I’ve been wanting to try my hand at making bread. I don’t have any fancy equipment, so this recipe by Girl versus Dough was perfect. The recipe is simple, most of the work happens overnight, and you get to wake up to something magical.

IMG_3930

Now that I’ve found success with this loaf, I want to give loafs of bread to people as gifts! Is that weird? Maybe? But it’s homemade, it’s rustic, and it’s artisanal,  so I might just do it for real. I followed this recipe exactly, but upon eating the bread I deemed the bottom crust a little too crusty – next time I make this (probably this weekend), I think I will take it out of the oven after about 50 minutes. However, if you’re new to making bread, it might be best to follow the recipe just like I did.

IMG_3936

I finished this recipe when I woke up, and then had the most delicious avocado toast for brunch (pictures and recipe at the bottom of the page)! And how cool is it to eat breakfast with the bread YOU made yourself!?

NO-KNEAD DUTCH OVEN BREAD
AUTHOR: Girl Versus Dough (Based on Jim Lahey’s Original Method)
PREP TIME:  8 hours 40 minutes
COOK TIME:  1 hour
TOTAL TIME:  9 hours 40 minutes
YIELDS: 1 LARGE ROUND LOAF
INGREDIENTS
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for shaping
  • 2 teaspoons sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon Red Star active dry yeast*
  • 1½ cups warm water (about 110 to 115 degrees F)
DIRECTIONS
  1. In a large bowl, whisk flour, salt and yeast until well mixed. Pour in warm water and use a wooden spoon to stir until a shaggy dough forms. The mixture will be wet and very sticky to the touch.
  2. Cover bowl tightly with plastic wrap and set aside in a warm place 8 to 18 hours until dough rises, bubbles and flattens on top.
  3. Heat oven to 450 degrees F. Once oven is preheated, place a 6-quart Dutch oven (with cover) in oven 30 minutes before baking.
  4. Punch down dough. Generously flour a sheet of parchment paper; transfer dough to parchment and, with floured hands, quickly shape into a ball. Place dough on parchment paper and sprinkle top lightly with flour. Top with a sheet of plastic wrap and let rest 30 minutes.
  5. Remove Dutch oven from oven. Uncover dough and carefully transfer to Dutch oven, with or without parchment paper beneath (if bottom of Dutch oven is not coated with enamel, keep parchment paper beneath dough). Cover Dutch oven and return to oven.
  6. Bake bread 45 minutes covered, then another 10 to 15 minutes uncovered until dough is baked through and golden brown on top. Cool slightly before slicing.

 

* You can use whichever dried active yeast you find at the grocery store – I used Fleischmann’s .

IMG_3943

With this bread, I put together this avocado toast, with this recipe courtesy of Bon Appetit, and holy cow was it delicious. It uses tahini, which I mentioned in this blog post, and a few other ingredients you might have in your pantry. I didn’t toast the bread, but you can if you like (I don’t actually own a toaster anymore, so that’s why I didn’t. Plus, the bread was just too yummy).

IMG_3957

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

